Adventures in Recovery–Birthdays and New Jobs

 

Happy May 25th!

I really like this day because it was the day I joined the human race with this particular body.

On this day (culled from a few online almanacs, etc.):

585 BC
The first known prediction of a solar eclipse was made in Greece.

1787
The Constitutional Convention convened in Philadelphia under the leadership of George Washington, in order to establish a new U.S. government.

1895
Oscar Wilde, a playwright, poet and novelist, was convicted of a morals charge and sentenced to prison in London.

1925
John Scopes was indicted for teaching Darwin’s theory of evolution.

1935
American track star Jesse Owens broke three world records and tied another in a little over an hour.

1961
America was asked by U.S. President Kennedy to work toward putting a man on the moon before the end of the decade.

1694
Bonnie and Thomas MacIntyre have their 1st child. Me.

1969
Midnight Cowboy, the only x-rated film to win a best picture Oscar, was released.

1977
“Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope” opened and became the largest grossing film to date.

1983
“The Return of the Jedi” opened nationwide. It set a new record in opening day box office sales. The gross was $6,219,629.

 

Recovery and my Birthday

Well, a couple months ago I landed what was an awesome gig. I passed the background check, the drug test and skills test. I CRUSHED. I was closing tickets within 2 days of being there, never lollygagged and performed very well. My manager several times told me how well I was doing and that management noticed it. Well, out of the blue I get cancelled. Economic reasons. I have my suspicions, particular since my team members who were employees were not all that hot. I didn’t get crazy or mad at the heavens or whatever. I CERTAINLY didn’t use. Now the timing could not have been much worse but when is it a GOOD time to lose your job?

It sounds corny but I prayed, and then called my sponsor and then best friend in recovery. I started applying everywhere and continued to hit meetings and go to synagogue. I applied for every job I was qualified for. This ranged from night inventory clerk to Sr. IT management positions. After many phone interviews, skills tests, face to face interviews, and  drug tests, I found a match. Tomorrow would have been my father’s 79th birthday, had he not chose to exit this world on his own 30+ years ago. I start a new gig tomorrow and am very excited. Remember that no matter how tough life gets, using will only make it worse. I can’t promise you that life will magically get better once you get clean. In fact, I have been knocked on my ass so many times now, I quit counting. The thing that counts is each time I got back up, dusted myself off, and drove on.

The 1st three steps all involve letting your Higher Power call the shots. I did have some moments of black depression, and felt profound doubt. Through prayers, friends, my sister, and my sponsor, I keep with it. Friday night at the synagogue lets me peacefully close out the week and welcome the Shabbat. Now that I am a full fledged member of my synagogue I go to an informal Torah study Saturday morning then minyan afterwards. That night is my homegroup and after that I am ready to face the upcoming week. I can’t promise you the recovery fairy will get you all those things you lost back. She might not even get you the things you want back. However there is ONE thing I can promise you without reservation. If you use, no matter what is going on in your life, things WILL get worse. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Leave a Reply

