Sad News from Temple Sinai Pittsburgh

It was with numbing horror I read this in my emails:

Dear Friends,

It is with great sadness and a heavy heart that I am writing to let you know that Rabbi Gibson’s father, Larry Gibson, passed away last night, as a result of injuries he sustained when he was struck by a car earlier this week.  On behalf of the congregation and staff, we extend our deepest sympathies to the entire Gibson family.  Rabbi Gibson’s parents visited Pittsburgh and attended our services on many occasions over the years; I’m sure we all feel we know Larry Gibson from the stories that are a regular feature of Rabbi Gibson’s sermons. 

Naturally, we want to comfort Rabbi Gibson as a community, as he has comforted so many of us individually. 

As a community, we mourn the passing of Larry Gibson

Father of Rabbi James A. (Barbara) Gibson

Grandfather of Micah (Catherine) Gibson, Avi and David Gibson

Great-grandfather of Noa

For those who would like to make a donation in Larry Gibson’s memory, donations may be made to Temple Sinai or the Gibson Education Fund at Temple Israel, Minneapolis.

Our deepest condolences to the entire Gibson family.

Sincerely,

Nancy E. Gale

President, Temple Sinai

 

Rabbi Gibson has been a HUGE influence in my road to becoming a truly practicing and contributing adult in the Jewish Community. It’s been 3 decades since my own father passed away and it STILL can sneak up on me and reduce me to tears. I sincerely wish the Gibson family comfort in their time of grief.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.